Home>>About LSG

About LSG

About Local Self Government Rajasthan

The Department of local self Government is the controlling Department of all municipalities for all administrative purposes. It also performs monitoring and co-ordination function at the state level for all the 187 municipal bodies of the state. This Department has a directorate to look after the day to day functioning of all these Urban Local Bodies. At present Dr. Manjit Singh  (IAS), is the Principal Secretary of this department and Sh. Purshottam Biyani is the Director, Local Bodies.

After enactment of 74th Constitutional Amendment Act, the Local Bodies, which were previously not the part of the Constitution of India, have now been assigned the Constitutional Status. There are 7 Corporations, 13 Councils, 35 Class II, 57 Class III and 78 Class IV ULBs in the State.


  • Process of cases received from ULBs regarding sale of land/allotment, regularization of Kachi Basties and Agricultural land, conducting Kachi Basti Survey
  • Approval of Budget of ULBs and released of funds regarding Special Grant, General Grant, SFC, TFC, Grant (in Lieu of Octroi) and State/Centrally Sponsored Schemes/Programme.
  • Issuance of Financial, Administrative and Technical Sanctions which are not in the Jurisdiction of the elected board.
  • Disposal of matters related to transfer, establishment, DPCs related to officers and staff of ULBs, DDR offices and Directorate.
  • Appointment of OICs/Advocate in Court Cases, vetting of reply, opinion judgment, decision for appeal or no appeal, scrutiny of Bye-Laws and Rules and Amendments in Acts and Rules.
  • Extension and Exclusion of Municipal boundary, Election of Municipal Boards.
  • Reparation of Annual Plan/District Plan/Action Plan/DPRs related to various GoI/GoR schemes/Programmes.
  • Implementation of Poverty Alleviation and social responsibilities Programmes.
  • Implementation of HRD Plan for elected representatives, and officials of ULBs.

For controlling all Urban Local Bodies, following Cell have been established in the Department:

  • Project Cell headed by Project Director from All India Services supported by Dy. Director and Sr. A.O.
  • TFC Cell headed by Mission Director from All India Services supported by AEn
  • Land and RMS Establishment Section headed by Additional Director from Rajasthan Administrative Services
  • Engineering Cell headed by Superintending Engineer
  • Accounts Section headed by Chief Account Officer from Rajasthan Accounts Services, supported by Sr. A.O.
  • SME Cell headed by Dy. Director (Administration) from R.A.S.
  • Legal Cell headed by Assistant Legal Remembrancer
  • Vigilance Cell headed by R.A.S officer
  • Statistics Cell headed by Deputy Director (St.)
  • Apart the various sections of the department, there are 6 Deputy Director Regional (DDR) Local Bodies Department offices situated in Jaipur, Jodhpur, Kota, Ajmer ,Bikaner, Udaipur . These offices are the extensions of the Directorate of Local Bodies.